Hodgkins Stage 4

Hodgkin lymphoma

A group for anyone affected by Hodgkin lymphoma to get together, ask questions, share experiences and support each other.

Hodgkins Stage 4

No. of entries: 10 | Posted on 01 Oct 2010 08:55

Hodgkins Stage 4

• Hi Guys, I'm new to this so hope i'm doing it right. I have just recently been diagnosed with Hodgkins Lymphoma advanced stage 4. I started with the pains 3 yrs ago and have only just been diagnosed.

I've just had my 2nd dose of chemo (ABVD) and a blood transfusion and am so fatigued (plus my hair has just started falling out badly). I was expecting a bit of energy after the transfusion as i was anaemic but i still feel absolutely shattered. Is this common? Does it get any better as the body gets used to the chemo or not? I'm probably sounding really negative at the moment but its suddenly hit me how serious this is and stage 4 is not the best place to be. All my pre chemo symptoms have stopped now but i'm just very scared at the moment. ;-(

• I have to tell you that with Hodgkins, the stage is not so important with regards to prognosis. The chemo will work the same on the 'lumps and bumps' regardless of whether you have 1 or 100. So my consultant told me when I was staged at 3a.

It's very common to feel tired post chemo. I certainly did - it took me a week to feel 'normal' again. Being scared is normal too... but one thing that made me feel better is something a doctor told me - being diagnosed with diabetes would have been much worse for me at age 20 than having the diagnosis of Hodgkins.

Ask your doctor about having something called GCSF after chemo to help your body recover from each round (if you're not already).

Steph