moving from FEC to Taxotere

Breast cancer

Breast cancer is the most common cancer in women in the UK. Men can also develop breast cancer, although this is rare. This group is for anyone affected by breast cancer to get together, ask questions, share experiences and support each other.

No. of entries: 6 | Posted on 25 Aug 2013 02:37

• I have my last FEC on 4 September ... then I gear up for the Taxotere.  I read on here that hair starts growing back with the Tax., but on various side effect websites, I read that Taxotere causes total hair loss.  I've lost most of the hair on my head (despite using cold caps) but still have eyebrows, eyelashes, hair on my arms (underarm and leg hair didn't grow back after I shaved it - useful!)  Is it possible I won't lose my eyebrows?

Nearly half way through the chemo now ...

C

PS I am studying (by distance learning) and was supposed to submit my research proposal next week but have instead spent the summer feeling sorry for myself and crying.  How tired does the taxotere make you feel?  Will I be able to study while doing the treatment?  I intend to stay off work as long as possible but need something to keep my mind occupied.  Also my children will be at school (another obstacle to studying during the holidays)

• Hi Canton,

I didn't have any FEC so can't compare it to Tax, but I did have 6 sessions of Tax, which finished in July. I still have my eyebrows and lashes, fully intact. I shaved my head to a number one cut before I started, and never went totally bald. It did shed, leaving me with some hair and some bald patches, but each individual hair was separated by scalp! The individual hairs started growing again about cycle 4. So don't despair, you may not lose your brows and lashes.