Struggling to cope - my husband is too young to be terminal

New to the site

If you've just joined up and aren't sure where to start, this is the group for you. Tell us a bit about what brings you here, and don't be afraid to ask questions. Someone will be on hand to welcome you and point you in the right direction

No. of entries: 6 | Posted on 01 May 2012 10:21

• Hi...this is my first time here or ever doing anything like this so even feel nervous writing this but am desperate for some kind of advice/help/support. I am 32,my wonderful husband has just turned 38 and we've been married for 5 years, together for 10 years. Though I know how lucky we are to have (and have had) such amazing times together it feels like things are so cruelly being snatched away. My husband has a grade 4 astrocytoma in his spinal cord, is currently undergoing avastin and chemo(irinotecan) treatment. It has been the worst possible whirlwind...to cut a long story short 18 months ago we were told he had a benign (but large) tumour in his spinal cord and perhaps 10 years to live...an enormous and devastating shock as he only had a dodgy foot...he had surgery but the tumour couldn't be removed, he then had radio, didn't work, followed by chemo, which also didn't worked...we were told in December that the tumour had become aggressive and he had 12 months at best. We are now 5 months on and in reaching May this has really hit me - I think I had been in denial as, absent the side effects of the treatment, he is fine apart from a bit of a limp and you'd never know anything was wrong to look at him. He is now finding things harder and harder to cope with and I don't know how to lift his or my spirits. Treatment is fortnightly and there seem to be more bad days than good in between - he is feeling like it is relentless now and is struggling to stay positive. I am struggling to cope with seeing him this way and trying to stay bright for him. We also both feel like we have been robbed of our future