Telling children

Family and friends

If a member of your family or a friend, or someone else you know is living with cancer, this group is the place to share your feelings and get support.

Telling children

No. of entries: 5 | No.of favourites: 0 | Posted on 21 Oct 2013 03:31
  • Hi everyone this is my first posting my 50 year old hubby has been fighting stage 4 bowl cancer for 12 months, he's gone through chemo a liver resection and tumour removed from bowl, last week we were told the cancers back with a vengeance and to go home to make plans, we're back on Thursday to see if he can have any chemo to extend life. I need advice how and when do you tell your 10yr old daughter, its 3pm another sleepiness night !,
    Rosie67
  • Hi Rosie, my heart goes out to you.  I am no expert but I have found most children to be very resilient as long as we tell them the truth.  Your best bet is to ring the helpline on this site and get their expert advice.  If you haven't already done so make the school aware of your situation.  

My husband has this evil monster in his gullet.  It was heartbreaking to have to tell our grown up children let alone our grandchildren.  Be thinking of you.  Take care.x

Marigold